× Search
Friday, June 21, 2024



Kubadda Webmaster
/ Categories: About Somalia, Somalia, History

About Somali

Formal Name: Somali Democratic Republic.

Short Form: Somalia.

Term for Citizen: Somali (pl., Somalis).

Capital: Capital: Mogadishu.

Independence: 1 July 1960 (from a merger of British Somaliland, which became independent from the UK on 26 June 1960, and Italian Somaliland, which became independent from the Italian-administered UN trusteeship on 1 July 1960, to form the Somali Republic).

Foundation of the Somali Republic: 1 July (1960); note - 26 June (1960) in Somaliland.

Constitution: 25 August 1979, presidential approval 23 September 1979.

Area: 640565 square kilometers with 3,025 kilometers coastline.

Topography: Flat plateau surfaces and plains predominate; principal exception rugged east-west ranges in far north that include Shimbir Berris, highest point at 2,407 meters.

Population: 8.7 million (UN, 2007).

Languages: Somali (official), Arabic, Italian, English & Indigenous languages include various dialects of Afar and Boni.

Religion: Islam mainly Sunni Muslim.

Flag: Light blue with a large white five-pointed star in the center; blue field influenced by the flag of the UN.

Somali emblem: Two tigers facing each other, holding the Somali flag

Anthem: Soomaaliyeey Toosoo, Toosoo isku tiirsada ee.. Somalia , Wake Up.

Ethnic Groups: Overwhelming majority of nationals ethnic Somalis; and two agricultural clan-families (Digil and Rahanwayn).

Currency: Currency: Somali shilling (No central bank so various currencies are used, including the Somaliland shilling).

Climate: Principally desert, northeast monsoon (December to February), moderate temperatures in north and hot in south; southwest monsoon (May to October), torrid in the north and hot in the south, irregular rainfall.

Education and Literacy: United Nations estimate shows 24 percent literacy rate in 1990.

Exports: $300 million f.o.b. (2006), main export commodities are-livestock, bananas, hides, fish, charcoal, scrap metal.

Imports: $798 million f.o.b. (2006) mainly import commodities are manufactures, petroleum products, foodstuffs, construction materials, qat.

Ports and terminals: Berbera, Kismaayo

Time difference: UTC+3 (8 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

There are 18 regions Administrative divisions: Awdal, Bakool, Banaadir, Bari, Bay, Galguduud, Gedo, Hiiraan, Jubbada Dhexe, Jubbada Hoose, Mudug, Nugaal, Sanaag, Shabeellaha Dhexe, Shabeellaha Hoose, Sool, Togdheer and Woqooyi Galbeed.

Next Article Somali Youth Basketball Camp
5953 Rate this article:
No rating
Kubadda Webmaster

Kubadda WebmasterKubadda Webmaster

Other posts by Kubadda Webmaster
Contact author

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2024 by Kubadda Somali Sport Portal
Back To Top